Welcome from the Head

Department of Pathology

Welcome from the Head

Welcome from the HeadThe University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign, one of four sites of the University of Illinois College of Medicine, is located on an extensive undergraduate/graduate campus with excellent research facilities that include the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology which emphasizes integrated research in the neural, cognitive, and computational sciences. Facilities for confocal microscopy, genetic engineering, hybridoma and flow cytometry, molecular graphics, a National Center for Super computer Applications, and an NSF Science and Technology Center for magnetic Resonance Technology for Basic Biological Research are also available. Many other units within the Schools of Life Sciences and Chemical Sciences, and the Colleges of Medicine and Engineering offer opportunities for interactions in the cellular and molecular sciences.

The Department of Pathology offers educational opportunities to medical students throughout the entire four-year medical education curriculum. For example, a first-year course entitled, "Introduction to Human Disease," serves to illustrate, often through patient demonstrations, the clinical relevance of basic medical sciences and provides a forum for the integration of clinical expertise with knowledge of the scientific basis of medicine. In addition general and special pathology topics are offered during the second, third, and fourth year of medical school.

Emergency/Extreme Weather
If conditions require the cancelling of classes or closure, the college will broadcast an announcement on this website, Facebook, Twitter, and Google+.

Review the full Emergency Action Plan.
Faculty/Staff | Students
Twitter Twitter
Facebook Facebook
Tumblr Tumblr
Google+ Google+
Youtube Youtube
University of Illinois
College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign

506 S. Mathews Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801

Email Us
Phone: (217) 333-5465
Fax: (217) 333-8868

College of Medicine Campuses: Chicago | Peoria | Rockford | Urbana :: © 2017 University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign